The Journey Begins- DAY 1

You never really know what you’ve been doing wrong, until someone calls you out.

Today is February 14, 2018. It is Valentines Day and Ash Wednesday, but also the first day of the Exodus 90 program. I had no idea what to expect today, but I know I started it off feeling what was to come. This program comes with sacrifices, this includes social media and television and so many more components.

I woke up around 8 a.m, and the first thing I did this morning was reach for my phone to check Twitter, but it wasn’t there because it was deleted the night before and I felt the effects of this challenge setting in. I started to question my decision in all this, debating if this was really the best thing to do. I decided to not let that hold me back, and go along with my day. I was able to implement a small workout and morning prayer, and went on to get ready for mass and the rest of my day.

I felt so pumped, after that, I did something so productive this morning, rather than waste it with staring at a screen. I really thought because of that I would do great for the rest of the day, but I didn’t think it all the way through. By the time mass ended around 1:30 and then work at 2:30, that proud high I had started dwindling down.

I work at a hotel and unless you have people checking in you’re probably not doing much, it was in these moments that I felt the need to fill that time with something else. The fact that I felt so lost without having my usual past time, and even started to feel frustrated at myself, and the everything around me, really saddened me. I really couldn’t  believe that these worldly things had this much of a hold on me. It started to take a quick toll on me, I felt my walls crumbling and wanted to give up so badly. I didn’t want to feel weak and break the rules set by the program, already on the first day. Thanks to the guys that are doing this journey with me, I realized that I am not alone in this journey and we all struggled to get into this groove. God has plans in store for us in these coming days and I hope to stay strong enough to see the fruits that he wants us to bare.

Lord I am feeling ready to see what you have to offer tomorrow and everyday after that.

Leave a comment